Australia to open 2019 World Cup against Afghanistan

Defending champions Australia will face Afghanistan at Bristol in their opening match of the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

The day-night fixture will take place on June 1 at the County Ground in the first of nine pool matches across the seven-week tournament which precedes the Ashes series in England.

Australia will contest the Ashes and the World Cup next year.

It will be the first time the World Cup has been held in England for 20 years when Australia beat Pakistan in the 1999 decider following victory in the most dramatic semi-final of all time against South Africa.

The hosts will kick-off cricket's showcase event on May 31 at the Oval against South Africa.

The tournament has reverted to the format used for the 1992 tournament with the 10 nations involved playing each other once.

The top four teams will then advance to the semi-finals with the decider taking place at Lord's on July 14.

Australia at the 2019 World Cup

June 1: Afghanistan at Bristol (D/N)

June 6: West Indies at Trent Bridge

June 9: India at The Oval

June 12: Pakistan at Taunton

June 15: Sri Lanka at The Oval

June 20: Bangladesh at Trent Bridge

June 25: England at Lord's

June 29: New Zealand at Lord's (D/N)

July 6: South Africa at Old Trafford (D/N)

July 9: First semi-final (1 v 4) at Old Trafford

July 11: Second semi-final (2 v 3) at Edgbaston

July 14: Final at Lord's


Source: Read Full Article