How to watch National Dog Show 2021 on Thanksgiving: Time, TV schedule, live stream & past winners

The 2021 National Dog Show returns this Thursday to continue a 20-year Thanksgiving Day tradition.

The National Dog Show began in 1879, and it has been held annually since 1933, including 2020 when most events did not occur amid the COVID-19 pandemic. This year’s dog show is taking place at the Greater Philadelphia Expo Center in Oaks, Pa. The actual competition took place on Saturday, Nov. 20 and Sunday, Nov. 21, but the pre-taped broadcast is always shown on Thanksgiving.

Only 600 dogs will be allowed to compete this year, compared to the normal 2,000 that participate. The American Kennel Club, which sanctions the event, recognizes 197 different dog breeds that are allowed to compete. 

Here’s a guide to everything you need to know about the 2021 National Dog Show, including a full TV schedule and a history of previous winners.

What time is the dog show on Thanksgiving 2021?

The National Dog Show begins immediately following the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade on NBC. Coverage for the National Dog Show will start around noon ET and end around 2 p.m. ET. 

David Frei and John O’Hurley will co-host the show as they have for the last 20 years. Additionally, Mary Carillo will join as a analyst for the ninth time.

National Dog Show results 2021

Here are the results from the 2021 National Dog Show.

How to live stream the National Dog Show

NBC will be streaming the National Dog Show on their NBC Sports app and website. You can access the app on Roku, Apple TV and Amazon Fire products as well.

Additionally, you can stream the National Dog Show on fuboTV, which offers a seven-day free trial.

What is the National Dog Show?

The National Dog Show is an annual competition held on Thanksgiving day by the American Kennel Club. 197 different breeds of dogs are allowed to participate, but not every breed will make an appearance every year. 

There are three different titles that the dogs can win during the competition. In the first round, the same breed of dogs compete against each other to determine how each dog fits the breed’s standards. The winners of this round become “Best in Breed,” and these dogs get to move on to round two.

In round two, the winning dogs from round one get dispersed in seven different groups: sporting, hound, working, terrier, toy, non-sporting and herding. The dogs are judged here based on how well they fit their breed’s standards. A “First in Breed” winner is named from each group. Those winning dogs get to move on to the final round, which is “Best in Show.” Whichever dog wins this final round becomes the main winner of the National Dog Show.

History of the National Dog Show on Thanksgiving

The National Dog Show began in 1879 and was first known as “The Kennel Club of Philadelphia Dog Show.” The name changed to what it is today in 2002, which is the year that NBC started broadcasting the event on Thanksgiving day. The National Dog Show has always taken place in Philadelphia.

It is the most watched dog show every year, bringing in nearly 20 million viewers each Thanksgiving. 

National Dog Show winners

Here is a list of every winner of the National Dog Show since NBC starting broadcasting the show in 2002.

Source: Read Full Article